photo of Mona Janfaza, MD, FACS, Breast Surgical Oncologist

Mona Janfaza, MD, FACS

Breast Surgical Oncologist

4.9 out of 5 stars 4.9 (54)

Patient Reviews

All 54 reviews have been submitted by patients after seeing the provider. Actual comments are displayed while preserving patient confidentiality.

SORT BY

  • Patient Review 1

    5 out of 5 stars

    Compassion and willingness to listen to your concerns.

    Reviewed on Jan 27, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 2

    5 out of 5 stars

    Professional, knowledgeable and personalble

    Reviewed on Jan 27, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 3

    5 out of 5 stars

    Friendly, personal, and caring

    Reviewed on Jan 25, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 4

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everything

    Reviewed on Jan 22, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 5

    5 out of 5 stars

    The whole experience was wonderful. Doctors, nurses, lab technicians, registration and financial counseling were great, and so helpful.

    Reviewed on Jan 20, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 6

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everyone was amazing during a very scare time

    Reviewed on Jan 20, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 7

    5 out of 5 stars

    My care team have gone above and beyond for me and helped me navigate very unsure waters and have been there every step of the way. I know I am in the best of care and I wouldn???t want to go anywhere else. Their team is absolutely incredible. They give you reassurance and a good comfort level at every turn that I am in the best of hands. Every concern and every question has been answered promptly and completely to my satisfaction. When going through cancer you need people around you that you know without a doubt care and you will find that here. Look no further MD Anderson Baptist Health Care is the ultimate cancer center and will provide you with the best possible results leaving no stone unturned.

    Reviewed on Jan 17, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 8

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everyone was very professional,

    Reviewed on Jan 13, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 9

    5 out of 5 stars

    How kind, understanding yet professional the staff were. I felt like I was the only patient and a beloved family member.

    Reviewed on Jan 10, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 10

    5 out of 5 stars

    I felt like, and still feel like, I had support through this journey.

    Reviewed on Jan 10, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 11

    5 out of 5 stars

    They seemed very professional.

    Reviewed on Jan 06, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 12

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everything

    Reviewed on Jan 03, 2024 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 13

    5 out of 5 stars

    I did not feel rushed. Visit was on time.

    Reviewed on Dec 27, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 14

    5 out of 5 stars

    Doctors & people!

    Reviewed on Dec 27, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 15

    4.6 out of 5 stars

    Nurses and staff are knowledgeable, effective, explain what they are doing, careful with patient identification, tolerant, and kind.

    Reviewed on Dec 27, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 16

    5 out of 5 stars

    I am in awe of the building, the Doctors & the complete staff. They all really helped me thru this difficult journey of mine. Always pleasant, helpful & patient. Because of the Chemo, my Doctors & all round care, I am now Cancer free. I still need radiation, but I am on the other side of the Cancer mountain ???????. Thank you very much all!

    Reviewed on Dec 23, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 17

    5 out of 5 stars

    I love Dr. Janfaza. She is amazing!

    Reviewed on Dec 17, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 18

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everything -could not have asked for a better experience given the circumstances.

    Reviewed on Dec 14, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 19

    5 out of 5 stars

    I love my surgical oncologist, Dr Janfaza. She explained everything so well I did not have one question about my diagnosis. I would also add that she has a very comforting, kind presence. The whole experience was so refreshing and reassuring. Everyone at the hospital was so kind and friendly. I truly feel I am in the best of hands

    Reviewed on Dec 09, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 20

    5 out of 5 stars

    All the staff I have come into contact with thus far, have been kind, positive, informative, and understanding: No question I asked, went unaddressed: In my opinion, if this was a category in the Olympics, they???d all have Gold Medals.????????????

    Reviewed on Dec 09, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 21

    5 out of 5 stars

    Ok

    Reviewed on Dec 03, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 22

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everyone I dealt with was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Responsiveness was very much appreciated.

    Reviewed on Nov 22, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 23

    5 out of 5 stars

    I received a very detailed and thorough explanation of what my diagnosis means and the treatment plan options.

    Reviewed on Nov 22, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 24

    5 out of 5 stars

    The front desk staff (check in and finance) are exceptional. They are sensitive and kind and I appreciate their genuine smiles and well wishes.

    Reviewed on Nov 21, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 25

    5 out of 5 stars

    Treated as as individual not a number. Made to feel like my condition was important.

    Reviewed on Nov 17, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 26

    5 out of 5 stars

    Detailed info

    Reviewed on Nov 15, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 27

    5 out of 5 stars

    All aspects from checking in through exam.

    Reviewed on Nov 11, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 28

    5 out of 5 stars

    Doctors

    Reviewed on Nov 08, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 29

    5 out of 5 stars

    I appreciate that i could have my bloodwork done while I was there, also its nice to know that I have a whole team working to make me healthy.

    Reviewed on Oct 30, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 30

    5 out of 5 stars

    OMG, everyone is professional, kind & super friendly. They are highly knowledgeable & explain anything & everything. My Daughter is there by phone during my visits, so she can also ask questions. I would not go anywhere else. My son-in-law did some research, & says MD Anderson is the best place to be. He is absolutely correct. Thank you

    Reviewed on Oct 27, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 31

    5 out of 5 stars

    Professionalism

    Reviewed on Oct 25, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 32

    5 out of 5 stars

    Seemed to answer all my questions.

    Reviewed on Oct 17, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 33

    5 out of 5 stars

    MD Anderson is an amazing facility. First, everyone I encounter is super friendly and welcoming. Second, everyone is very professional and caring. When you have a cancer diagnosis it is scary. Literally everyone is wonderful which makes it easier to go through the cancer journey.

    Reviewed on Oct 14, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 34

    4.6 out of 5 stars

    Scheduling computer needs work. Dr. was great. She explained everything.

    Reviewed on Oct 14, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 35

    5 out of 5 stars

    I liked it all. The facility, nurses, and physicians are top notch

    Reviewed on Oct 12, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 36

    5 out of 5 stars

    So good person's

    Reviewed on Oct 05, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 37

    5 out of 5 stars

    The doctor was very good at explaining my options for care and what is needed to proceed. I would recommend the doctor to another patient needing breast cancer surgery.

    Reviewed on Oct 05, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 38

    5 out of 5 stars

    Practical advice

    Reviewed on Oct 01, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 39

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everyone was kind, efficient, and friendly.

    Reviewed on Sep 30, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 40

    5 out of 5 stars

    Professional and compassionate care. I felt well taken care of and in good hands. Procedures were explained to me along the way and my concerns were listened to and addressed in a satisfactory way

    Reviewed on Sep 30, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 41

    5 out of 5 stars

    Treated with care, and educated about my condition. What a good experience.

    Reviewed on Sep 27, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 42

    5 out of 5 stars

    Every one was on schedule. My doctor very informative and very pleasant

    Reviewed on Sep 23, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 43

    5 out of 5 stars

    Dr. Janfaza is very knowledgeable and explains the situation where I can understand it. She is also very thorough.

    Reviewed on Sep 22, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 44

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everyone I encountered made me feel like they cared. They not only made me feel cared for but they also took good care of me

    Reviewed on Sep 19, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 45

    5 out of 5 stars

    Everyone was so kind and put me at ease.

    Reviewed on Sep 16, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 46

    5 out of 5 stars

    Excellent care!! Met many of your employees & was very impressed with how nice they all were. Thank you!!!

    Reviewed on Sep 13, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 47

    5 out of 5 stars

    The surgeon spent a long time with me explaining everything and my options. Listened to my concerns.

    Reviewed on Sep 09, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 48

    5 out of 5 stars

    Very thorough, easy to talk to

    Reviewed on Sep 06, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 49

    1 out of 5 stars

    The visit with Dr. Janfaza was extremely disappointing. She lacked compassion, at times was very aggressive, seemed to be more focused on her needs, and was not concerned about my input or needs. I have severe hearing loss, I tried to explain this early on, but she interrupted me and explained that she would first go over my chart and explain some things, then do an exam, and after I was dressed then I could finally ask questions. Because of my hearing loss, it is not conducive for me to not be allowed to verify I heard things correctly by asking clarifying questions. At some point, she was discussing genetic testing, my daughter did interject at that point to say I had already had this done by our local oncologist. The results are still pending, but as soon as available we would fax them. She appeared very angry about this. She put down her pen, rolled her chair back away from us, her face appeared angry/annoyed, she told me I needed to stop seeing multiple providers and that I needed to choose who I would be seeing. My daughter explained that I live 6 hours away and wanted to establish with a provider locally, so that I have someone nearby. She also explained that this provider was made aware of our visits to MD Anderson and we would work with them to ensure all records were shared. My daughter has diligently followed up with everyone to make sure all records were shared. We even brought the imaging discs to the visit to make sure she had the reports and images from the outside facility. She seemed to still be unsatisfied with this answer and said that seeing other providers locally was "interfering with your care." This occured in the first 10 minutes of our meeting. After this, my daughter and I were both honestly afraid to speak. She continued on with the visit, but her demeanor did not improve. When I was finally allowed to ask some questions, she did not directly answer them. She gave vague answers and would continue onto another topic. She also again interrupted me when I was trying to clarify about the surgical incision and said, "remember I already told you about this." Her tone seemed condescending and her response was dismissive. At the end of the visit she was very demanding about making a decision quickly, wanting me to immediately sign the consent for surgery. The nurse was polite, but she was not in the room for most of the visit, other than the last few minutes. Everything about this visit was in stark contrast to our visit with Dr. Avila-Lima and all the information we read on the MD Anderson website. I had hoped to have surgery at MD Anderson with a breast oncology surgeon, but now will have to make other plans. I would like the opportunity to follow up with someone about this experience, as I hope some feedback will prevent others from having such a terrible experience at an already stressful time.

    Reviewed on Sep 05, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 50

    5 out of 5 stars

    I loved the attention I received and the care of the staff.

    Reviewed on Sep 02, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 51

    5 out of 5 stars

    The positive attitude of the staff.

    Reviewed on Sep 02, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 52

    5 out of 5 stars

    impecable service

    Reviewed on Aug 27, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 53

    5 out of 5 stars

    Personal, caring, professional, informative. Focused on the patient.

    Reviewed on Aug 23, 2023 | Verified Review

  • Patient Review 54

    5 out of 5 stars

    Absolutely wonderful staff from beginning to end. So caring! Other than my diagnosis there's nothing bad I can say about this establishment

    Reviewed on Aug 13, 2023 | Verified Review